1 Sam. 1:14-15 And Eli said unto her, How long wilt thou be drunken? put away thy wine from thee. And Hannah answered and said, No, my lord, I am a woman of a sorrowful spirit: I have drunk neither wine nor strong drink, but have poured out my soul before the LORD.

http://tektonics.org/lp/nowine.html

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coming Home   Jan Oskar Hansen
© 2006

My flat was in mourning, layers of dust were veils 
of sorrow, I had been away for weeks leaving 
it in darkness and in the melancholy of confusing 
half light, not nothing whether it was dawn or 
evening. I switched on the table lamp opened 
a widow and the room breathed in relief, it was 
built to house humanity, had felt rejected and 
was beginning to take on the lifeless coldness 
museums and art galleries have after closing time.

Opened the fridge two tins of tuna fish, wasn’t 
hungry, but to the gladness of my heart a bottle 
of red wine; uncorked it, lovely aroma, filled it 
to the brim and drank. Shrugged of the nonsense 
said at the clinic, where ex drunks who had never 
enjoyed wine, tried to convert me to a sullen 
existence of meekly accepting the arid life. Took 
the bottle into the living room switched on the telly 
and we, the room and I, were great friends again. 

http://www.writerscramp.ca/docs/poetry_and_alcohol.htm

Leave a Reply

