You were given this life, because you are strong enough to live it. Robin Sharma

 

I’m not funny. What I am is brave. Lucille Ball

1 1 1 degas22lafo_0011

 

Coming Home

Jan Oskar Hansen
© 2006

My flat was in mourning, layers of dust were veils
of sorrow, I had been away for weeks leaving
it in darkness and in the melancholy of confusing
half light, not nothing whether it was dawn or
evening. I switched on the table lamp opened
a widow and the room breathed in relief, it was
built to house humanity, had felt rejected and
was beginning to take on the lifeless coldness
museums and art galleries have after closing time.

Opened the fridge two tins of tuna fish, wasn’t
hungry, but to the gladness of my heart a bottle
of red wine; uncorked it, lovely aroma, filled it
to the brim and drank. Shrugged of the nonsense
said at the clinic, where ex drunks who had never
enjoyed wine, tried to convert me to a sullen
existence of meekly accepting the arid life. Took
the bottle into the living room switched on the telly
and we, the room and I, were great friends again.

http://www.writerscramp.ca/docs/poetry_and_alcohol.htm

1 1 1 1 1 1 celticfairytale00jacorich_0045

Poetry and Alcohol

Jan Oskar Hansen
© 2006

The two of us we have lived together long,
she sits in the kitchen watching Brazilian soaps,
I read TLS which gives me an edge even though I think some of the stuff is effete and some of the famous writers and painters are totally overvalued.

I do catch a glance of the TV in the living room from
time to time, a nature program that irritates me, the
Australian hero is actually worrying the wild animals and I hope he will be bitten by a crocodile, or trampled by an irate elephant. No such luck.

Andrew Motion wrote something about oral poetry,
I appeared once at poetry venue, nervously drank
too much, and insulted the organizer. Wish the TLS
would adopt me. Really!  But like late George Best,
I’m a loose cannon liable to tell them to fuck off

http://www.writerscramp.ca/docs/poetry_and_alcohol.htm

1 1 1 1 1 1 Fotor02221238363

Morning Chronicle (Sydney, NSW : 1843 – 1846), Wednesday 19 June 1844,

1 1 1 1 1 1 Morning Chronicle (Sydney, NSW - 1843 - 1846), Wednesday 19 June 1844,

1 1 1 1 1 1 Fotor02221238367

No free woman should be allowed any more than one maid to follow her, unless she was drunk.”    

Zaleucus, 7th century BC greek law code.

1 1 1 1 1 1 Fotor02221238369

One thought on “You were given this life, because you are strong enough to live it. Robin Sharma”

Leave a Reply

