When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes, I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.

THE OLD PROVERBIAL RECOVERY

― Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found

1 throughlookinggl1910carr_0006

“Break the glass, I thought to myself, because it is a symbolic gesture. Try to understand that within myself, things were breaking of much more importance than a glass, and I’m happy for that. Look to your own inner struggles and break this glass.
Our parents taught us to be careful with glasses and with our bodies. They taught us that the passions of childhood are impossible; we should not remove men from the priesthood, that people do not perform miracles and that no one goes on a journey without knowing where he wants to go.
Break this cup, please, I thought to myself, and release of all these damn misconceptions, the habit you have of only doing that which everyone agrees with.”

― Paulo Coelho, By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept

View original post

Leave a Reply

