No boy in love with a beautiful woman would ever feel disgusted when she peeled potatoes. Chesterton.

1 1 1 1 1 potatoes

I like being successful. I somehow always knew that I would succeed. I had a great sense of destiny from the time I was very young…. When I was only about five or six years old, I was standing with my mother in the kitchen at home in Long Beach. I told her flat out that when I grew up I was going to be the best at something. She just smiled and kept peeling potatoes or whatever it was she was doing. She said, “Yes, dear; yes, of course, dear,” as if I had simply said that I was going to my room or going to eat an apple …

[Billie Jean King (b. 1943)

Leave a Reply

