When I was a boy said my daddy to me: “Stay out of the mines, take my warning,” said”he , “Or with dust you’ll be choked and a pauper you’ll be, Broken down, down, down.”

13260163_10153661782031342_3383229313931673726_n (1)

Pennsylvania – Poem by Carl Sandburg

I have been in Pennsylvania,
In the Monongahela and Hocking Valleys.

In the blue Susquehanna
On a Saturday morning
I saw a mounted constabulary go by,
I saw boys playing marbles.
Spring and the hills laughed.

And in places
Along the Appalachian chain,
I saw steel arms handling coal and iron,
And I saw the white-cauliflower faces
Of miner’s wives waiting for the men to come home from the day’s work.

I made color studies in crimson and violet
Over the dust and domes of culm at sunset.

Carl Sandburg.
Leave a Reply

