I have not felt like using for years but that is not everyone’s experience. Recovery doesn’t make you immune from life. After nine years clean I held my dead son in my arms. For the life of me I could not figure out how shooting heroin would bring him back. That wasn’t ok but I am ok. Using doesn’t fix anything.” Damien: 13 years clean, Sydney, Australia

1 1 1 1  1 1 11 pictureposterssh00hiatuoft_0317

“For the past 26 years I’ve thought of heroin every day…”

But never thought of using it. It never made anything better, just worse. Look, every junky is always “considering” getting clean. Every junky wants to be clean. Every using junky also wants more heroin. Call it a contradiction call it what you want. But no junky wants the life they have.

James: 26 years clean, Sydney, Australia
One thought on “I have not felt like using for years but that is not everyone’s experience. Recovery doesn’t make you immune from life. After nine years clean I held my dead son in my arms. For the life of me I could not figure out how shooting heroin would bring him back. That wasn’t ok but I am ok. Using doesn’t fix anything.” Damien: 13 years clean, Sydney, Australia”

Leave a Reply

